(Belated) New Year’s Resolutions…using quality

New Year’s resolutions at the end of January? “Isn’t that a bit odd”, you might say. Yes and no.

When you are a quality professional, you can start to view life as a constant PDSA cycle. And as part of continuous learning, we know that improving isn’t limited to once a year and shouldn’t be done in haste.

So here are my thoughts on what I would like to focus on in 2011. I will come back to this list from time to time and share my progress and what I’ve done to improve based on the PDSA methodology.

1. Focus my spending habits and consumption to support companies that practice social responsibility and sustainability. This of course means researching who these companies are and then choosing the best way to spend my dollars.

2. Mentor at least one person who is interested in quality. As a chairperson of ASQ’s Young Quality Professional and Chair-Elect of the Service Quality Division, there is a community that I can reach out to – via social media or face to face events.
At this year’s WCQI, I will be presenting networking strategies for women in quality. I’m looking forward to being able to help others reach their own networking goals and improve how we connect with each other through quality.

3. On a personal level, I love photography. My goal is to apply quality tools to my photography so I can be more consistent and become a better photographer. So there might be a blog or two related to the application of quality tools to photography!

4. On a professional level, promote the use of quality tools in the work environment. Simply put, I have to be a champion. It’s easy for quality professionals to connect with each other, but think of the many others we interact with daily who may not have our background in quality, but quality is such a huge part of their job.

5. Share my lessons learned and best practices to a larger audience. In the past 10+ years, the fumbles and successes I’ve had can help others. And no matter how much experience any of us has had, we learn from each other. So I will plan more collaboration and learning opportunities.

So what are your quality goals for 2011 and beyond?

Stay tuned for upcoming blog posts that focus on how I am using the PDSA for each of these goals!

I’m part of the ASQ Influential Voices program. While I receive an honorarium from ASQ for my commitment, the thoughts and opinions expressed on my blog are my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to (Belated) New Year’s Resolutions…using quality

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention (Belated) New Year’s Resolutions…using quality | Be Quality, Transform Your World -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

