How safe is your food? Who makes sure it stays safe?

This month, Paul Barowski blogged about the new food safety law. You can read more about it here.

While I do not claim to know the ins and outs of food regulation and inspection, as a consumer I can definitely weigh in.

Though my generation is starting to grow and tend to community gardens, eat organic and be more cognizant about the origins of the food we eat – there is much we take for granted. When I buy eggs from the supermarket or eat a fresh spinach salad from the deli, I barely ever think about food safety. In fact, I take for granted and have the assumption that my food meets the highest quality standards.

The truth is, we need to pay more attention. As a consumer, I need to understand what laws are in place to protect me and the people I love….and to keep our food safe.

So as a quality professional, it’s good to know that ASQ is working on my behalf to help provide guidance and support for preventative action on food safety.

I agree that having third party assessments would be beneficial within the food safety industry. Using international standards only makes sense, as long as they maintain the highest standards for the industry. So now, I’m going to read up on the Food Safety Modernization Act – because we should all care about keeping our food safe and making sure that the right legislature is in place to protect us.

I’m part of the ASQ Influential Voices program. While I receive an honorarium from ASQ for my commitment, the thoughts and opinions expressed on my blog are my own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to How safe is your food? Who makes sure it stays safe?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention How safe is your food? Who makes sure it stays safe? | Be Quality, Transform Your World -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

